Versions of Inebriation

Exit to the worst from the bleeding structure.
Some elements of previous time will exist as long as I let them.
My breathing must be controlled.
I remember the folly of my extended adolescence like it was all yesterday,
like it was earlier today,
like it is happening now,
like it hasn’t happened yet!
Nothing intertwines so well as the fibers of our memory.
Is it crude to value myself so highly?
Is it complacent to be unlike everyone else I have ever known?
We die as easily as other species, or more so.
We are frail;
we are the most self-destructive and the most anti-intuitive.
Admitting allegiance to parasitism and a lack of goodness, is not to say we deserve cruelty or decimation.
The flaws must be cataloged and chronicled, and they have been.
I am attempting to change myself,
in the meantime;
becoming closer to the spaces between each and every second.

Published by

errorattic

Writer, aspiring farmer and homesteader in North Georgia, making ends meet and trying to become more enlightened.

Leave a Reply

